#travel · Spiritual Walk

A Surprise From God in a Foreign Land

I’m still in awe of God’s faithfulness and all the good things He has done for us while I was in Da Nang.

Let me just share my testimony so that God may be glorified.

BE SENSITIVE TO HIS LEADING

I was looking up for churches on the web one night and Da Nang happened to be the nearest one from my location. It was a 4-hour bus ride from Huè. The next morning, I took the bus not knowing exactly where I was going. All I know is that I’m going to meet with God in that place.

As I marvelled at the beauty of the city at night, I found my Spirit singing “Oceans” particularly the bridge part where it says “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters, wherever you would call me. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.”

20160730_211536_LLS

Truly, when we trust God completely and allow Him to plan our course, we will be surprised on how far He can take us. He will let us experience miracles that would make our faith stronger.

A Divine Appointment

I attended the 10:30 am Sunday Worship Service at Danang International Fellowship. This church caters to foreigners and English-speaking expats who live in Danang. It was a full house that time. Tourists from all over the world (including me) came to visit and were refreshed by God’s Word.

I was blessed to meet a fellow Filipina who was a volunteer in that church. Upon knowing that we’re both engaged in missions, we instantly connected.

FB_IMG_1471000736412

Like the usual scenario when Filipinos meet abroad, we decided to hang out and do some ‘catching up’ as if we’ve known each other for a long time. We’ve shared our testimonies about how we got saved, our turning points, our season of transformation and equipping until the time that God has used us in the ministry. The whole afternoon was spent recalling God’s faithfulness in our lives.

After our “catching up session” Nini, together with her friend BB, showed me around the city and I instantly fell in-love with the place.

My initial plan was to stay for just one night in Da Nang. But after the wonderful turn out of events, I decided to spend another night there. And Nini and I agreed to meet up again the following day.

FB_IMG_1471000763080

We spent the whole afternoon talking about business ideas, ministry, missions, jobs, hobbies..

Well, speaking of hobbies, she introduced me to one of her favorite activities to do during her free time.. swimming!

FB_IMG_1471000748042

I wasn’t wearing the proper swimming attire when we went there. At first, the lifeguards didn’t allow me to get in the water, so we tried to ask the staff if there were swim clothes available for rent. Few minutes later, the lifeguard approched us and told us to just go to the pool and swim. Talk about God’s favor! 🙂

It didn’t end there. There’s another instance where we really saw God at work.

I didn’t have goggles, so we asked if I could rent one. The lifeguards said that we have to BUY one for 500 pesos. Of course, I just opted to swim without goggles on than to spend my money for something I don’t really need. Again, few minutes later, one lifeguard handed us his goggles and told me that I can borrow it. As soon as we’re done swimming, I immediately approached the lifeguard to return the goggles and thank him for being so nice. Much to my surprise, he didn’t take it back. Instead, he told me to keep it as a souvenir! Haha! Lord, You never fail to surprise me!

After swimming, we went to the beach to have a quiet time with the Lord. There, He revealed to me a lot of things and reminded me of my calling.

IMG_20160801_235256

OPEN DOORS

After months of working in Vietnam, I found my soul searching for opportunities for mission work. Given the language barrier, I found it hard to communicate with the locals. But God knew exactly what was in my heart that time. My heart leaped for joy when Nini invited me to visit her student’s house to pray for her dad who is suffering from a liver problem.

So we came over to pray for the sick man. When we arrived at the house, we were gladly welcomed by the family. We felt the presence of God as we were praying. Tears fell from each and everyone’s eyes as we continue to declare healing in the mighty Name of Jesus. As soon as we finished praying, there was an instant change in the atmosphere and in the face of Mr. Chu Duc. He was smiling and crying at the same time…amazed on how God restored his strength, he kept on saying “I’m very happy” (in Vietnamese). And we all capped off the night with thanksgiving through a song of praise.

They asked us to stay for a simple celebration for Chu Duc’s healing. But since my friend has to report to work that night, I was the only who stayed with the family. Minutes later, Nini’s student asked me if we can go to a nearby hospital to pray for a friend’s brother who was paralyzed after having a stroke the other day.

When we arrived at the hospital, we were not allowed to go inside the room because the patient was already in the ICU. I had the opportunity to pray for the sister and tell her about God’s love. She was not a believer but through the power of prayer, God revealed Himself to her that night and she ended up thanking God and claiming her brother’s healing in Jesus’ Name.

There were a lot of miracles that I witnessed personally during my stay in this city. Despite the language barriers, I believe that we are all connected by heart by the One who made us. We can understand and communicate with each other when speak the language of God, which is LOVE.

Do not be afraid to take a leap of faith. Follow His leading even if you do not know where He is taking you. God will never put you in a place where His grace can’t reach you. Look forward to His surprises. See the miracles unfold right before your very eyes. Always believe that wherever God guides, He provides.

 ” ‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for him who believes.” Mark 9:23 

Leave a Reply

