Personal · Spiritual Walk

You Deserve That Ice Cream

God has His unique (and sometimes funny) ways of teaching us what we have to learn. Since He is a personal God, He uses our day-to-day experiences to speak to us. Today, I learned a lesson after getting my tooth pulled.

Over a year ago, a part of my dental filling was chipped off while eating. . . Though I knew back then that there was something wrong, I didn’t feel a sense of urgency to visit a dentist. Besides, it wasn’t even painful!

“It wasn’t even painful” – has always been my silly excuse not to deal with it right away.

My mom always tells me not to wait until it gets worse before I have it treated. But everytime I make an attempt to visit the dentist, fear always starts to creep in.

I’m scared of the extraction process”

“I’m afraid of needles.”

“It might be too costly… there are other important things that I need to spend my money on.”

I was always full of silly excuses but the root of all these excuses was FEAR.

I didn’t realize that it was getting worse until a few days ago I woke up to an excruciating pain caused by my impacted tooth. It was so painful that even pain killers didn’t work. I wanted to have it pulled right away but I was advised that I have to wait until the pain was gone before it can be extracted.

Suddenly, I was willing to spend thousands just to have my tooth removed just so I won’t feel the pain anymore. Suddenly, I wasn’t thinking of the needles. I thought that if I was able to endure the pain while the tooth was there, then the tooth extraction process would be nothing but manageable.

Suddenly, I wasn’t thinking of my fears… ‘cause all  I wanted was to be pain-free.

Sometimes, PAIN pushes us to our limits. It can make us do the things that we are scared of doing only to find out that we can be spared from that pain had we decided to make that move sooner.

My mom was right when she told me not to wait until it gets worse. We get into painful situations sometimes because of our own free will and because we make decisions (or fail not to) while dominated by fear.

Sometimes, we are aware that something isn’t right but we either neglect the urgency of dealing with it or we escape from it because we are afraid that the process of mending might be painful. Little did we know that doing such means setting ourselves up for a greater (sometimes irreversible) damage…that may result to a greater pain.

If you are facing a painful situation right now, whether it be self-inflicted or just allowed by God… I have a good news for you. Just like an impacted tooth being pulled out from the gums, God can take away your pain as long as you make a move to get out of it.

The Scripture says “But by the means of their suffering, He rescues those who suffer. For He gets their attention through adversity.” Job 36:15

Had I not felt the pain, I wouldn’t have made a move to address it. That’s why I’m thankful for all the pain I’ve been through in my life (whether physical, mental, or emotional pain) for it is through them that God was able to get my attention being a hard-headed person that I was.

Face that pain.

The best way out of it is through it.

I assure you…there is a reward waiting for you in the end.

So after the extraction, my dentist told me that I should eat ice cream. “Well it is not only to soothe the gums, but it’s a treat you should give to yourself as well for being brave” she jokingly said.

Is there an area in your life where God allows you to experience pain? He must be speaking to you through it.

Face the pain. Trust that God will help you get through any trial in your life. Be brave. Remember, you deserve that ice cream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

